On a Personal Note (or Dallas in PJ’s) #INND13

I’m a bit of an introvert and I very rarely promote myself or any of my endeavors.  For instance, I’m in a band and always feel guilty when I send out Facebook invitations to my friends each time we schedule a gig.  However, I feel compelled to mention this because I’m just so excited about it.

Each year, the League for Innovation in the Community College hosts an annual conference.  This year, the conference, Innovations 2013, (Twitter: @InnovationsConf or search #INND13) is being held from March 10-13 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, TX.  I mention this because at this conference, Prof. Ellen Genovesi and I are presenting on our experience in the design, development, execution and support of a fully-online lab science course (Human Anatomy).  The session, which we’ve lovingly titled “Biology Lab in Your Pajamas! The Fully Online Lab Science Course“, will be presented on March 12 from 2:30 to 3:30.  This is my first time presenting at a national conference, so I’m incredibly excited about the opportunity.

Prof. Ellen Genovesi (the content expert), and I (the instructional technology geek) have planned an entertaining and informative session in which we’ll discuss every aspect of the process, from the initial course proposal all the way through to the feedback we received from students who’ve completed the course.  If you’re an instructional technology kind of person or a science faculty member or just someone who wants to see how a lab science course can be taught online, this session will provide some insight from a couple of folks who’ve seen the process all the way through and lived to tell about it.

Oh, and as an extra added bonus, we will be wearing pajamas for this presentation. Seriously.

That’s it for my plug.

</shamelessselfpromotion>

Hope to see you in Dallas,

~r

2 thoughts on “On a Personal Note (or Dallas in PJ’s) #INND13

  1. Rodney, you and Ellen are most deserving of this opportunity to present to the world this wonderful course! Congratulations to you both! Knowing you’re both a bit introverted just makes it that much more exciting that you’re willing to go out there and share what you’ve done! PS – I LOVED the PJs you wore at our demo! Linda Martin 🙂

Leave a Reply

