Life in the Cloud: Day Eight (or Oooh! Lava hot!!)

Well, the day-to-day workstuff in the cloud is pretty easy all the way around.  I’m trying to use Google Docs and Google Drive a little bit more just to see if they’re any more flexible and less resource-intensive than their Microsoft counterparts, and on the Chrome browser, they certainly appear to be.  Although, I suppose, to be fair I’d need to use the Microsoft Office Web Apps in Internet Explorer, but I’ve had so many bad experiences with Internet Exploder in the past that I’m just not sure I’m ready to take the experiment to that level… just yet.

Today’s issue does however concern the functionality of one the Microsoft Web Apps… Outlook.  I had to step on the lavafloor a couple of times today thanks to the Outlook Web App.  Sure, I’m running the web app in Chrome and maybe if I ran it in IE perhaps I wouldn’t encounter these issues, but I don’t think that’s the case.  Today, I had to search through some older e-mails and it occurred to me that the Outlook Web App doesn’t have the basic sorting and searching capabilities that are native to its desktop counterpart.  A search that only took a couple of seconds in the desktop application was complicated and damned near impossible in the web app.  Oh, and Quick Parts.  The web app doesn’t have quick parts which I oh so dearly love…  So, since I’m having to write similar responses to student e-mails today, I realized that it was unproductive to try and do it in the cloud (although I’ve got a method that works reasonably well) and just gave up and used the desktop app for a little while.

Dammit.  My shoes and socks are burned clean through!

Tomorrow is another day.

~Rodney

Image above borrowed from http://fatkidatcamp.com/2011/07/25/monday-funny-116/the-floor-is-lava/

Leave a Reply

