Cool Tool: PicPick

Just a short entry to sing the praises of a program I’ve been turned on to…

It’s called PicPick, and it’s one of the most versatile image capture/manipulation tools I’ve come across yet.  Not only is it a screen capture tool with a built-in image editor, but it also contains several other valuable tools including an ever-so-handy pixel ruler.  It can be tied in directly with an FTP account so that captured images can be uploaded to a server with a single click.  If you create step-by-step tutorials using screen captures, this is an invaluable tool.

I’ve never cared for SnagIt, so I had developed my own little system for getting things done which had proved effective over the years.  But I was always on the lookout for something to simplify the process.  An article on Lifehacker turned me on to PicPick so I decided to test it out.  PicPick now has a place in my system tray (which is an area I try REALLY hard to keep clean and clutter-free), so you know I dig it…  Try it out, I think you’ll find it quite useful.  It certainly beats dropping $50 for SnagIt, and it really gets the job done…

Leave a Reply

